Aurora College students cross the stage in Inuvik

Click on the slideshow above to view captions.Photos courtesy of Aurora College.

The final batch of Aurora College’s class of 2015 greeted their mentors and friends while dressed in blue robes last Friday at the Aurora Campus convocation ceremony in Inuvik.

Eighteen students from the Beaufort Delta and Sahtu regions collected their degrees, diplomas and certificates the evening of May 8, marking the school’s final convocation event of the season.

The event took place at Inuvik’s Midnight Sun Recreation Complex. Students representing the schools of Arts and Science, Business and Leadership, Education, and Health and Human Services crowded together as they awaited their turn to finally collect after months or years of hard work.

Deputy Commissioner of the NWT, Gerry Kisoun, addressed the graduates, as did Inuvialuit Regional Corp. CEO and the evening’s keynote speaker, Nellie Cournoyea.

Environment and Natural Resources Technology Program graduate Edwin Amos was named valedictorian of his class and also received the Board of Governors (BOG) Student Leadership award. Amos was rewarded for both his strong academic standing and his willingness to help others in his positions as the president of the Student Association and a regular volunteer.

Several other members of the Aurora Campus community took home BOG awards. Tiffany Dwyer was honoured with the Instructional Excellence award, after three years of going above and beyond her duties instructing at the School of Developmental Studies.

Multiple people were named for the Innovation and College Improvement Award. Matthew Dares, manager of Technology Development with the Aurora Research Institute, was honoured for his talent. The Sahtu Distance Education Team, made up of Katie MacRae, Anna Gillingham, Marilyn Brown, Jerry Huculak, Sue Drozda, Nancy Norn-Lennie, Jennifer Waterhouse and Sherri Burke received the same award. Each of the individuals was noted for playing an important role in ensuring the success of the program.

Nellie Gruben, executive assistant to campus director Sarah Tilley, was given the Service Quality award.

Bella Charlie also accepted the UNW Local 29 Staff to Student Legacy Award, while Dorothy Koe was awarded the Aurora Cup.

Previous ceremonies for Aurora College students took place in Fort Smith and in Yellowknife.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Social Networks