Dominion winners go undefeated

Click on the slideshow above to view captions.Photos: Don Jaque.

The winners of the weekend’s NWT Dominion curling championships in Fort Smith made sure to book their spot at the nationals in Halifax next November by going undefeated throughout the three-day tournament.

The Paul Delorey team from Hay River was a clear winner in the competitive men’s event, as was the team skipped by Sharon Cormier from Yellowknife on the ladies’ side, with neither losing a game.

Seven men’s and three ladies’ teams from Yellowknife, Hay River and Fort Smith competed in the round robin event.

In both cases, there was tie for second place and extra games were required to finalize the standings. The Moss team from Yellowknife was eventually victorious over the Fort Smith foursome for second place in the women’s. The men’s final ended in a tie and will have to be replayed Wednesday evening – a perennial grudge match between two Fort Smith teams skipped by cousins Bruce McArthur and Nick Kaeser.

The championships are for “average” curlers who play the game only recreationally at the club level. Higher level curlers are not allowed to compete as full teams.

The event takes its name from the sponsor, Dominion Insurance. This is the fourth year it has been held.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Social Networks